College Shopping

Let’s just say I like things. Not that I’m materialistic, I just enjoy being surrounded by pretty things. So the dorm life is not exactly something I am looking forward to… Having an eternal sleepover with a complete stranger while simultaneously trying to shove all our earthly belongings into a room only slightly larger than a prison cell? Yeah, not for me. But regardless I am about to begin that challenge and as that date gets nearer and nearer the time for dorm shopping has begun.

Whenever I bring up anything dorm related my mother just rolls her eyes. Not that I can necessarily blame her. When this touchy subject is approached it is often to say something along the lines of “I found this really pretty thing that would look TOO perfect in my dorm” which actually means “I found this really small trinket on potterybarn.com that is way over budget but I think I’ll just go ahead and use the paypal account. That’s all.” So her dismay is understandable.

Anyways. Dorm shopping is something that must be done, for both creativity and practicality

I couldn’t find a good dorm list anywhere (you know besides the ones that big stores, like Target, give out which all claim you need far more stuff than you actually do), so I made my own super basic list for anyone out there who ever comes across this.

My College Shopping List

Desk

Lamp
lampshade

Big month calendar

Mirror

 

Bed

Comforter

Sheets

Pillows

Decorative Pillows

Clip-on light

 

Under-Bed

Fridge

3 drawer sections

Dust Ruffle

 

Closet

Hanging mirror

3 drawer sections

 

Walls

Curtains

Frames for records (2)

 

Floor

Rug

 

School Supplies

Stapler

Staples

Scissors

Looseleaf paper

Tape

Hangers

Highlighters

Pencils

Pens

Sticky notes

Command hooks

First aid kit

Extension cord

Power strip

 

Dishes

Cups

Plates

Silverware

 

See? Super basic, but super efficient.

So I went out and bought things, something I am super good at. 

Tip I have learned: find that really expensive, super comfy/cozy/adorable looking thing. save it. go to sleep. find it for way cheaper with lots of research the next day. spend the money saved money on a Lilly Pulitzer dress.

You’re Welcome

One thought on “College Shopping

Leave a comment